KAI 

Gender:                                        male
Size:                                                medium - 46 pounds. 
Breed:                                            Shiba mix.  Not sure what he's mixed with.  Maybe Shepherd, Doberman,                                                                  Border Collie or?? 
Age:                                                 estimated around 3 to 3.5 years old
Good with dogs:                       most dogs.  Does better with females than males, does not do well with                                                                    dominant dogs or barky/growly dogs.    Does not like intact male dogs.                                                                       He would love to find just the  right play mate because he does enjoy                                                                              playing.  
Good with cats:                        Yes but may be a bit too interested in them.  
Good with children:               yes - older (10+) because he is a door dasher.  Small children would not be                                                               able to protect the door very well and prevent him from getting out of                                                                       the house.  Because  he  is a Shiba mix, his urge to escape is high and he                                                                     will run if he gets out and will only  come back when he's good and                                                                                 ready.  
Energy level:                               very high.  Loves a couple of good walks daily  (at least 2 to 3 miles                                                                                                    each time).   He is currently getting about 6 miles a day of walks.                                                                                    He would make a good running buddy.  
Vetting accomplished:          combination vaccine,  rabies vaccine, micro-chip, neutered,  heart worm                                                                    treatment, monthly preventatives                                                                                       
Vetting after adoption:       monthly preventatives.  
Heartworm status:                negative  
House broken:                         yes
Crate trained:                           yes but doesn't really like the crate.  If he's left out of the crate when no                                                                   one is  home, he is generally well behaved and doesn't chew.    
leashed trained:                       yes but needs a bit more work.  He does pull but has gotten quite a bit                                                                         better.   We are working on some things during walks.  He can be leash                                                                     reactive with other dogs.  

fenced yard needed?            YES!  needs to be at least 4 foot tall and dog proofed.  He could likely climb                                                                a chain link  fence so that won't work for him.  Kai would probably do                                                                          great with a doggie door and access to a fenced back yard  most of the                                                                     day but only when someone is home.  His urge to escape (being a Shiba,                                                                   he can climb and can dig) is high and if he is left outside when no one is                                                                     home, he likely will not be there when his people return.  

basic obedience:                      in progress.  Knows sit, stay, wait, eat, come.  Working on down and heel                                                                    right now. 

other information:                 Kai would do best in a home with an active family that would be willing to                                                                    get him out  for a couple of good walks/daily.  He enjoys spending time                                                                      with the family members   and had a really strong bond with the                                                                                    previous foster's children.   

Adoption fee is $350    


​Kai likely needs an exerienced owner or a least someone willing to invest the time and $$ into training.  

HARLEY - CHOCOLATE LABRADOR RETRIEVER.  Being fostered in the Washington, DC area.  


KAI

Pets Located In The USA

HARLEY  - Needs experienced owner

Available in the Washington, DC area (within a 2.5 hour radius)
Gender:  male neutered

Age:  7 years old (born 1/3/2012)  

Size:  large - 95 pounds.  Harley is a tall boy.  

Breed:  Labrador Retriever  (American style)  

Energy level:  high energy - needs an active family willing to provide him with plenty of exercise.    Currently getting about 6 miles a day.   * Harley is getting 2 long walk/runs daily of about 2.5 to 3 miles each time.    He would love to go to a home with a runner.  A home on the water or a home with a pool would also suit him just fine as he loves water and loves to swim.  
Vetting completed before adoption :  combo vaccine, Rabies vaccine, Bordatella, Lyme vaccine x 2, Lepto vaccine, neuter, heart worm negative, monthly preventatives, micro-chip

Vetting that will need to be done after adoption by the new owner:  monthly preventatives
Heartworm status:  negative  
House & crate trained:  yes to both.  Harley is  trustworthy when he is not crated when no one is home but the house has to be be "dog proofed" especially counters.  Harley is a counter surfer.  **  This is provided that Harley gets the exercise that he needs.  If he doesn't he may "make his own fun" when no one is home.  
Good with dogs:  best as an only dog.  Harley is a resource guarder around other dogs and while he has gotten much better since he has been in foster care with our rescue, he has a better chance of being successful in his new  home if he didn't have to share - food, toys, attention, etc.   Harley was not well-socialized as a puppy unfortunately and he can be quite jealous.  
Good with cats:  NO!     
Good with children:  best in a home without children or any children that visit regularly.  He could possibly go to a home with teenagers that have common sense.      
Adoption fee:  $350

Other:      Harley knows several basic commands and walks well on the leash.    He walks better when being walked alone.  If there is another dog along he will speed up and try to compete.  He also has a high prey drive so attention needs to be paid to critters on walks (deer, squirrels, rabbits, etc.)   Harley would be a really good indoor guard dog.  He alerts on unusual things and his bark can be quite loud and intimidating.  He would not be good for apartment or shared wall living situations.  He needs to go to a stand-alone house and a physically fenced yard.  He doesn't self-exercise so the yard doesn't have to be that big but he could not be trusted with underground or electric fences.    An ideal home would have acreage that he could roam on in a rural setting.  


Harley is a very loyal and loving dog and he is very people oriented, however the best home for him would be adults only and a calmer/quiet environment without a lot of changes or activity.  Harley does best when there is not a lot of stress in the house.   He can get overstimulated when there is too much activity or noise.